World Cup

The statistics for Netherlands vs. Argentina

Only Brazil versus Sweden and Argentina versus Germany have been played more frequently in the World Cup than this sixth encounter between Netherlands and Argentina.


In nine encounters with Argentina across all competitions, Netherlands has only lost once (W4 D4), and that defeat came in the 1978 World Cup final. The most recent of those four draws, in the teams’ most recent meeting in the 2014 World Cup semifinal, did, however, end in a loss on penalties.

The two most recent World Cup matches between the Netherlands and Argentina, in the semifinal in 2014 and the 2006 group stages, both ended in a 0-0 draw.

Each of Argentina’s last nine World Cup knockout round losses (including finals) since losing the 1930 final to Uruguay have been to European countries, including a 2-1 loss to Netherlands in the 1998 quarterfinal.

The Netherlands have advanced from all three of their previous World Cup quarterfinal contests (1998, 2010, and 2014), with their lone loss occurring in 1994 against eventual champion Brazil.

Although they did defeat Belgium in their most recent quarterfinal match, Argentina has been eliminated from three of their last four World Cup games. They have advanced to the final in each of the three World Cup quarterfinal games from which they have played.

If Netherlands wins this game, Louis van Gaal will tie Luiz Felipe Scolari’s record of 12 games without a loss from the start of a World Cup managerial career, which he currently holds with his 11 World Cup matches managed (W8 D3).

In his last 30 games for the Netherlands in all competitions, Memphis Depay has contributed to 34 goals, scoring 24 and providing 10 assists.

Only Gabriel Batistuta (10 goals for Argentina) had more World Cup goals than Lionel Messi’s nine. His first goal in the competition’s knockout stages came against Australia in his most recent outing.

Only three Argentina players have scored in their first three games: Guillermo Stabile in 1930, Oreste Corbatta in 1958, and Hernán Crespo in 2006. Julián lvarez has scored in each of his two World Cup starts. He would become the youngest player since Téofilo to score in his first three World Cup starts if he starts and scores in this game at the age of 22 years and 312 days.

For more updates, always visit

Latest News via Email

Don't miss What's happening in your area.

Invalid email address
We promise not to spam you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Get Latest News on Telegram